News:

New Wiki available at http://wiki.gstwins.com -Check it out or contribute today!

Main Menu

Fuel Issue or Something Else? 96 Gs500E

Started by MotoSeamus, June 02, 2019, 07:01:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MotoSeamus

Hi All,

I'm going to list as much information as i can below in laymans terms (i'm relatively new to working on bikes) but let me know if you need more information.

Previously:

Bike wouldn't idle for longer than a few seconds. Took the carbs apart, cleaned the float bowls. Found the idle screw turned all the way out (not making contact) and caked in something that looked like it came out of a dinosaurs arse. Cleaned that up, turned it in so it was making contact. Bike started up fine on around half choke, idled at around 3k rpm. Turn choke off, it dies. Turn choke to full, it dies. Rode it for a little while, clutch was slipping between first , N and second. New Clutch cable as it came with the bike, but the screw (Part 57442-11010-000) doesn't clamp the cable properly as its slightly bent out of shape. Ordered a replacement. Hopefully this fixes that issue but any ideas would be awesome.

History: At some point the bike has been dynojetted. The idle jets (smaller one?) are stripped and i can't remove them. The jets also don't look like the standard ones i've seen in my research and appear fatter?

Current:

Rode the bike yesterday for around an hour. Seemed fine other than the clutch issue as above. Onto the idle issue. It will (or did) idle in neutral between 2-3krpm with half choke. If you turn the choke off, it dies in neutral. Turn it up to full, it dies in neutral. This was still occurring by the time i reached my destination. If you reach a light and pull in the clutch in first, it dies unless your on the throttle.