News:

New Wiki available at http://wiki.gstwins.com -Check it out or contribute today!

Main Menu

A cautionary tale...not for the squeamish

Started by barry905, July 08, 2018, 01:56:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

barry905

As we are bathed in hot weather at the moment I notice a large number of people riding around in just t-shirts and shorts. I understand why - you stop at a light with a hot engine between your legs and you feel like you are being cooked! However....

First a little background. I started riding bikes in 1967 when I was just old enough - literally the day I was. I was 16 then, young and stupid and thought I was invulnerable. So occasionally I wouldn't bother with a helmet (not illegal then), and more often not even a coat. Of course this meant that I came off fairly often, but in those days in the UK learner riders were limited to bikes with an engine of less that 250cc  so the damage we could do to ourselves was somewhat limited. Most often just scraping off skin and bruises. Which is painful and makes a good lesson.

Fast forward 50 years. After a break to raise a family and other adulty things, I got another bike, my GS. As I am allegedly and adult now I also got the gear to go with it - proper jacket, pants, boots, gloves and helmet. So last September I was riding down to my brother-in-law's cottage and riding along a nice country road. There are three cars in front of me, and we are going at about 100 kms/hr. We go over a narrow bridge, and then the car in front decides he needs to turn left. So he slams on his brakes, as does the car behind him and the one behind that. So of course I do too. The only problem is that the bridge has had recent road works and is covered in gravel. So off I go! One minute I am happily riding down the road, the next I am sliding along it six feet behind my bike!