News:

Need a manual?  Buy a Clymer manual Here

Main Menu

Another "bike won't start" thread.

Started by Rydar, March 03, 2012, 04:42:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rydar

Allright, so i bought my used 2007 500f from a dealership a couple months ago, had it delivered cause i'm new to bikes and haven't taken the safety course yet (scheduled for end of the month).  It started the day i got it, everything was cool.  The next time i tried it, i was unaware that i had it in gear while the sidestand was down, so it repeatedly stalled.  After that, i made a few more mistakes.  I held the starter button down longer than you're supposed to.  I opened the throttle to try to give it gas to keep it from stalling.  Once i realized my problem and put it back in neutral, it still wouldn't start, so i walked away from it.  Later that week, i also dropped the bike trying to put it on the centerstand.  I repaired the fairing damage with JB weld and ordered a battery charger.  I charged the battery, tried it again, still wouldn't start.  Figured i'd killed the battery, bought a new one, charged it, put it in the bike, and it still won't start.  I do hear a clicking sound like it's trying to start, so at least i hear somethin, but the engine isn't trying to turn over, it seems.  I also tried starting it with the choke off and the throttle open in case the engine was flooded, no luck.