News:

Registration Issues: email manjul.bose at gmail for support - seems there is a issue that we're still trying to fix

Main Menu

Retaking the MSF course?

Started by Watcher, August 18, 2014, 06:35:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Watcher

OK, so I've been bugging a friend of mine for years now about getting his license to ride and he's been claiming he wants to but never takes opportunities to take the free state subsidized MSF course.  I think I may have finally convinced him to take it at the price of me taking the course with him.

As a rider of nearly 3 years now I am way advanced for the beginner course, but have been wanting a refresher on laws and such so I'm actually seriously looking forward to it.

But I have a devious side, and I wonder if instead of admitting I have a license and ride and saying I'm there for moral support I should take my Golf there, claim Im a newb, say I am "borrowing my brother's gear while his bike is in the shop", then the last day show up on my GS and be like " Just kidding!"
I wonder if it'll be more fun seriously helping some newcomers as a role model, or throwing the instructors for a loop!

What do you all think?  Anyone here ever retake the class by choice?
"The point of a journey is not to arrive..."

-Neil Peart

Big Rich

I don't think the instructors would see the humor in that. I would take your GS and see how well you do with it instead of a 250cc bike though.
83 GR650 (riding / rolling project)

It's opener there in the wide open air...

Watcher

If they'll even let me use it...  I don't think they'd appreciate the straight pipe, but they might enjoy the smell of 112 octane...

-Neil Peart

Rallyfan

I recommend taking it again. I will, to keep a relative company. My relative has been riding since 1966 and I've been riding since 1986. I have a license but he let his lapse in the 1970s, and now he wants it back. He's ridden across the country and yet he'll be there ready to learn.