Author Topic: Does this engine sound right after warming up? It's spewing white smoke!  (Read 672 times)

Offline jimbo98

• Local Club Racer
I know this is a fairly lengthy post, but I have been trying to get this bike running right for the past few months and have only been barely able to ride it. I'm no mechanic and have no previous experience with this stuff, but I just want to be able to enjoy the bike already. Any help whatsoever would be appreciated:

I have been slowly working on this bike over the past couple months. I thought I had everything with the carbs right today. I cleaned every darn orifice on the carbs several times over, made sure all the jets were clean as a whistle, set the float heights spot on, and I set the mixture screws to 2.5 turns out. Put everything back on the bike, and started it with the choke on. Here is the course of what happened upon startup:

1. Choke lever set on (My choke spring is a bit sticky so it doesn't stay 100% on but more like 85%, unless I hold the lever down)

2. Start the engine, it starts to idle, and I wait nearby as it warms up and slowly increases in RPM

3. Hits 2500 RPM and I pull the choke up ever so slightly to about 50%, and all of a sudden the RPMs increase quickly to 3500 RPM (that's weird, right?). Ok, so I let it sit at this state.

4. Now it's been about 15 minutes warming up and I go to turn the choke off. It sputters and dies. I figure this might be because I have the idle screw (throttle stop) fully disengaged. So I screw it in about one whole turn.

5. I try to start the bike back up on full choke, and it won't run, wtf. I set the choke at 50% and it starts now. I let it sit for about another 5 minutes and this is when I start to notice the bike is smoking, all coming from around the engine area. I ignore this for now, thinking it's just gunk burning off and will go away.