Author Topic: Bundy project Now called lighteneing/modernization  (Read 2163 times)

Online gregjet

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Formula Extreme Racer
Re: Bundy project that has no category ( yet).
« Reply #40 on: October 26, 2016, 07:46:30 PM »
Mr Biggz:
Glassing (etc) I have been doing a long time ( started building surfboards in the late 60's. Built boats, boards, motorcycle bashplates, side covers, belly pans , fairings, seats etc etc. over the years but I am NOT a professional.
I have been working with carbon fibre since the price has come down to a "OK" price. BTW , be prepared for it to drop even furthur. The chinese have developed a new very fast efficient carbon fibre manufacturing process. 
Innegra in a new VERY interesting fibre. A woven polypropylene. Lighter than glass and kevlar ( not as light as carbon), more compliant lay up than any other cross woven fabric, almost as strong as carbon and kevlar, impact resistance almost as good as kevlar, and cheaper than ALL of them. Epoxy preferred resin. Best for non finished layups or between a fibre that can be finished. Almost as strong as carbon BUT doesn't shatter like carbon under impact. Still experimenting with it. Strong but not extremely stiff though.
MR72.
In reality as this is a modernization project I really SHOULD be FI'ing it. It is just too expensive. I use to race an ER6 and the biggest problem would be getting a fuel pump into the tank. The fuel pump is directly controlled by the ECU so matching issues will also be a problem. The squirter also has problems  beside price. I considered making a single throttle body and a plenum chamber feeding both cy, but the huge intake valve timing overlap would make for a set of problems for flow with a single injector.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2016, 08:08:02 PM by gregjet »

Offline Mr. BIGGZ

• AMA Supersport Racer
« Reply #41 on: October 27, 2016, 05:58:25 AM »
Mr Biggz: