News:

New Wiki available at http://wiki.gstwins.com -Check it out or contribute today!

Main Menu

'98 GS500 Project

Started by Sea206, November 11, 2013, 10:24:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sea206

With the help of adidasguy and the West Seattle Bike Cave, my brother and I are going get this 98' GS500 running again. I'm new to bikes and riding in general, so I'm gonna be learning the technical part on it as well riding!

Attached a couple shots of the bike after we got it out of the shed today.

According to my brother (who owns the bike), as of right now the bike needs:

• A new chain
  • New Front brake
  • New Clutch
  • Its electrical issues worked out
  • And probably not last and certainly not least, whatever is wrong with the engine

We also have a bunch of mods we wanna do, but the fun stuff can come later. We're taking the bike over the awesome adidasguy's bike cave tomorrow, progress!

[attachment deleted by admin]
Rest in Peace Patrick Lajko

Picowatt

Congrats.    I am in the same boat.  Just picked up a 97 to get moving

cbrfxr67

"Its something you take apart in 2-3 days and takes 10 years to go back together."
-buddha

Sea206

Gonna start linking to these photos so it doesn't take days for this topic to load up, especially for those with slower internet connections.

11/12/13

Got the bike moved to the cave, progress!

https://www.dropbox.com/sc/4uyyvafny3z6w0m/GdmtTuZ2VB

Louimart

Nice!

Wish I was also in  my hometown Seattle so I could join you all.
I have a 96' GS500 that also needs some work so I will be keeping up with your post.
Good luck to you and safe riding!

Loui

NikonAndy

What time are you guys gonna be out there at adidasguy's place today?

adidasguy

I plan for Saturday as a good wrenching day. Mid Sunday's are also times I am around.
I do have a "job". Some people are allowed to work there on their own when I'm at work.

NikonAndy

Quote from: adidasguy on November 13, 2013, 02:43:04 PM