Author Topic: My First Bike - a $350 1993 GS500  (Read 7011 times)

Offline floatingLomas

• AMA Supersport Racer
  • lolwut
    • Stuff
My First Bike - a $350 1993 GS500
« on: October 07, 2014, 02:55:26 PM »
Well, I've been working on her for about two months now, and she's brought me safely to work so I figured it was finally time to write a post about her.  I currently have my Learners' license, but I'm finishing up the Motorcycle Safety Course this next weekend and have my road test scheduled for October 16.  Super excited. :)

I let my buddy talk me into (actually following through on my lifelong dream of) buying a motorcycle, and he sent me 'So You Wanna Get A Sportbike' to read, which I did, and I immediately started searching Craigslist et al for - and researching the hell out of each of the 'Ninja 250, Ninja 500, GS500, Ninja 650, SV650.'

I came upon a UsedEverywhere ad in mid-July:

$350 - 1993 GS500:

93 GS500. Engine needs work. Would be a good parts/project bike. Needs some TLC. Has sat for 2 years under a roof no weather on it. Ran fine before I stopped riding it. Needs new battery. Will start but smokes a lot and doesn't run well.

Has almost new tires, good brakes. Paint is fine with exception of a paint bubble that burst on the gas tank. Little bit of rust on there, but gas tank integrity is fine.

Price is fair and firm.

Checked with my buddy, he said "let's go look at it," so we did.  It had been sitting for about two and a half years. The shop it was at said it was only running on one cylinder and smoking really badly (remember this for later...), but my buddy said it looked like it was doable, so I pulled the trigger.  Turns out it was manufactured in 05/92, so I guess that makes it a 92.  Buddy helped me picked her up from the shop to take her to her new home.

EDIT: it's a P, so it's a 93 after all.  Oops.